Club Notes Week Ending 8th May

posted in: Club Notes | 0

Lotto Results

2nd May 2016: Numbers Drawn: 4, 5, 10 & 17. No Jackpot Winner. Six Match 3 Winners €40 each –. Paddy Tyrrell, Mary Corcoran (x2), Sean O’Rourke, Damien Cassidy and Trisha O’Brien. Promoter’s Prize €50: Gina Spain. Thank you to all who continue to support our weekly lotto. The lotto jackpot remains at €20,000 and tickets are available for €2 each from all committee members and local businesses. Yearly tickets are also available; please contact any committee member if interested

Minor Hurling League

Hard luck to our Minor Hurlers who lost out to Ballinamere/Durrow in the league on Bank Holiday Monday last. K/K had played with the advantage of a strong wind in the first half and led by 0-12 to 0-8 at the break but Ballinamere/Durrow put in a strong second half showing to win on a scoreline of 1-21 to 0-14. Team & Scorers: Rory Gleeson, John Spain, Cathal Gath, David Bracken, Stephen Leonard, Mikey Ryan (0-6, 5f), David Coyne, Niall Egan (0-2), Dylan Young, Peadar Coughlan, Dylan Leonard (0-1), Joe Daly, Conor Lowry (0-6, 3f), Conor Hayden, Lochlann Kavanagh. Subs: Dean Brummell (for J. Daly, HT), James Kelly (for P. Coughlan, HT), Adam Dalzell (for C. Hayden, 57mins), Brian Mullins (for N. Egan, 60mins)


See fixtures for details of all this week’s games.

Offaly GAA

Well done to the Offaly senior hurlers on their 1-17 to 2-11 win over Carlow in the second round of the round robin group on Saturday in O’Connor Park and to the minor footballers who defeated Wicklow 1-13 to 2-9 in Aughrim on Wednesday evening. Best of luck to the Senior Footballers who play Longford in the first round of the Championship on Sunday in O’Connor Park and to the Minor Hurlers who are playing Wexford in the Semi Final on Saturday in O’Connor Park.

Dermot McNulty Blitz

Our U11 hurlers travelled to Na Fianna GAA Club in Dublin on Bank Holiday Monday last to take part in the Dermot McNulty Memorial Blitz. Thank you to Na Fianna GAA for having us. They took part along with six other clubs: Na Fianna, O’Loughlin Gaels, Borris-Ileigh, St Finian’s, Castleknock and Ballyboden St Enda’s. After a great day’s hurling it was K/K who came out on top. Well done to all involved.


Kilcormac/Killoughey GAA Club were saddened to learn on Friday last of the passing of our Club President Charlie Daly, Ridgemount Park, Kilcormac. Charlie has been involved in GAA in the parish and the county for many years whether it be playing, involved in the management of teams or in latter years supporting. Charlie was a selector with the Offaly Senior Hurling team from 1976 until 1985 during which time they won their first and second All-Ireland Hurling titles in 1981 and 1985. He was also a selector with both Na Piarsaigh Minor Hurling double winning teams of 1970-1971 and 1983-1984. Charlie was an ever-present on the bench inside the gate of the Kilcormac GAA pitch for many years casting his eye over all training sessions and matches until ill health in recent years. We would like to express our sincere sympathy to Charlie’s brother Paddy, extended family and friends. Kilcormac/Killoughey GAA Club would also like to express our sincere sympathy to the Leonard Family on the passing of Kathleen Leoanrd, Pallas Hill, Blueball and to the Tynan Family on the death of Betty Tynan, Kinnitty and formerly Coolfin, Kilcormac.